Skip to content

Nintendo Emulation System Released

April 24, 2012
tags: ,

Nintendo Emulation System

This morning I cleaned up my NES emulator for Reaktor for public release. It contains 4 oscillators – 2 pulse oscillators, a triangle oscillator and a pseudo noise generator. I did not yet add a DMC channel as I was a bit unclear as to how it functioned or how to test my work. When I have some more time I may try to add that functionality to the next release. Other planned upgrades include a polyphonic version, and optimization by turning off unused channels.

I have made an attempt to be true to the character of the NES while discarding superfluous components such as length counters, which can be reasonably ignored since they are not exactly useful outside the context of text-based programming. If there is anything missing that you’d like to see, please let me know.

The ensemble has two modes – one allows for all 4 oscillators to be played back via 1 MIDI channel, the other assigns a MIDI channel to each oscillator for playback of .MIDI files. I created a few snapshots to mimic the sounds of a few of my favorite games, but I’m mainly relying on Youtube videos and other emulators for sound accuracy so they are probably not quite right in many instances.

I did not include a manual for this one, it’s quite self-explanatory and I did add documentation to the controls themselves, so you can hover over any component and see what it does. You can hear a sound sample here.

Download.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. meter maid permalink
    May 30, 2012 1:22 am

    Just a thought for sample playback, maybe delta modulation effect could be added or made as a companion ensemble to be used as an insert effect? http://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/APU#DMC_.28.244010-4013.29

Trackbacks

  1. Nintendo Emulation System on Reaktor : Steelberry Clones

Leave a Reply

