Skip to content

Starscream

March 14, 2012
tags:

Starscream

Starscream is a 16 voice, sample based drum machine. Built on top of the same framework as the other Transformers ensembles, it was designed to overcome a shortcoming in Reaktor – the inability to save samples by snapshot. I found this to be slightly crippling with other drum machines as it meant you were either saving several different copies of the same ensemble, or the whole thing was stuck with the same sample map.

I would like to thank Psudaform, Meidex, Michael O’Hagan and Jeye Musik for providing the raw samples used in the ensemble. You can hear a very simple sound sample here.

As always, I’ve included a manual with the download that explains how to use Starscream properly. I hope you all enjoy it, let me know what you think.

Download Starscream

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 12:02 pm

    Wow, impressive! You are one prolific Reaktorphile!

    • March 14, 2012 12:10 pm

      Most of the work on these was done months ago. Now it’s just finalizing some stuff and making snapshots and manuals…

  2. Michael O'Hagan permalink
    March 14, 2012 4:51 pm

    salamander dude, you have got the craziest skills in Reaktor!!! This Rocks, thanks.

  3. S Breen permalink
    April 10, 2012 7:22 pm

    This is great! However, is there anyway of making it less taxing on the RAM? I’ve tried reducing the number of samplers but my skills are ‘Novice’ at best. I dont want to seem ungratefull, its a really interesting ensemble, I just wish it used less RAM. Thanks!

    • April 11, 2012 7:54 am

      Unfortunately, no. This ensemble is pressing up against the limits of Reaktor in a few different ways.

  4. 5at0 permalink
    May 8, 2014 2:11 am

    Hi, first of thanks for sharing so much of your incredible work on Reaktor.
    I was wondering if I am the only one missing the file “Bytes_10.wav”, when I load the ensemble. Any way I can get the original file or at least a hint on what kind of sound it was in order to replace it with something I might have.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

