Skip to content

Optimus Prime

February 22, 2012
tags:

Optimus Prime 4 is the first of the ‘Transformers’ series, a group of ensembles I created over the last 4 months. They share a common GUI and modulation system, a method I used to rapidly create new projects with extensive modulation capabilities without starting from scratch each time.

Like previous versions of Optimus Prime, version 4 is very similar to Tim Exile’s ‘The Finger’ and Twisted Tools ‘Buffeater’ in that it is a multi-FX processor where effects can be added and removed from the processing chain dynamically thru the use of MIDI note signals. Optimus Prime is mainly intended for glitch effects that can be turned on and off easily.

Here’s a sound sample of one of the presets, I am just mashing buttons on my keyboard so it’s not too musical.

I have included a .pdf manual that describes the basics of using Optimus Prime. Please post any bug reports, questions, or comments in the comments and I will do my best to help. I also would welcome some user-submitted snapshots for this, so please feel free to send some my way.

Comments are truly appreciated, as I spent a lot of time on this. Thanks.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. meter maid permalink
    February 22, 2012 12:37 pm

    Wonderful. That scrolling color changing waveform is the coolest thing, real nice eye candy. It uses between 2&4% cpu with all slots in use on my 2.00 GHz AMD single core which is very very low I think for this type of thing, good job on that! The effects themselves are well chosen and the core engine looks really well made.

    Looking forward to what’s coming next.

  2. sowari permalink
    February 22, 2012 12:52 pm

    looking forward to these!

  3. February 22, 2012 11:27 pm

    than you :) going to try it today at home !

  4. February 29, 2012 9:31 pm

    Reblogged this on donovick and commented:
    Jeff Donovick likes this image.

  5. meter maid permalink
    March 11, 2012 5:47 pm

    I think a lot of these effects could benefit greatly from an anti-clicker or smoothing. The clicking is pretty bad in some cases. Ex: when an LFO at its lowest speed is modulating the grain of the Shifter effect with the grain set to the middle, it sounds really cool but there is clicking which kind of fudges the overall sound.

    • March 11, 2012 6:01 pm

      Yes, in fact, that is the worst possible case for this ensemble. That knob is not really meant to be modulated (I couldn’t really ever make it work right), however I decided not to remove the capacity for modulation because a) as you said it can sound pretty cool and b) for the sake of consistency/simplicity.

      As for anti-clickers, I did make an attempt at this but it’s not perfect.

  6. March 29, 2012 1:51 pm

    sweet. i’m a guitarist and i’m setting up a system to play and capture / mashup my guitar layers. I’ll add this to my effect rack and letcha know how it goes. I always thought “The Finger” would be really fun to play with my feet. I’m calling it “The Toe” haha

  7. April 18, 2012 11:44 am


    video of me testing out Optimus Prime and my new camera.
    pretty sweet man. thanks.

  8. November 26, 2012 8:55 pm

    really cool. thanks so much for posting these tutorials. i’ve been looking for something like this to learn reaktor, a long time goal of mine. thanks again!

Trackbacks

  1. ShortSync #4 – Weapons | [ Tripod II ]
  2. I can haz Reaktor? | Melopsyched

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

